This stone cottage, probably built in the nineteenth century to house a married couple or senior worker on Otekaike Station, is one of a number of structures associated with the working of this pastoral run. The Campbell Park Cottage has architectural and historical significance. It was entered into the heritage list on 25th September 1986 as historic place category 2 with a list number of 4887. The Public NZAA Number of this Campbell Park Cottage is I40/65.
In September 1853, Samuel Pike applied for Run 28 (later known as Otekaike). The original boundaries of the run were from Kurow and Otekaike Creeks back to the Saint Mary Range. By 1855, Pike had transferred the run to John Parkin Taylor (1812-1875), the later superintendent of Southland, who in turn sold it to William Dansey. William Dansey was established on Otekaike by May 1858. Dansey had a house on Run 28 by early 1859. A survey plan from April 1861 shows the Crown grant to William Dansey within Run 28 – a 92 acre block with his house, stable and futtah, and an adjacent 11 acre block with ‘men’s house’ and woolshed.’ Dansey laid the foundation for the next runholder who would make the property one of the most significant in New Zealand.
Accommodating workers was an important aspect of estate management – most stations would have had a cookshop/men’s quarters and other buildings such as cottages for more senior staff. This is a small single-storey single-gabled cottage. It is L-shaped in plan, built of stone, with a corrugated iron roof and a verandah in the ‘elbow’ of the L. The house has been plastered. Ornamental details include stone quoins and decorative corbels supporting the window ledges. The windows are six-light double hung sash windows. As of today, the Campbell Park Cottage remains part of the historic landscape of the estate.